Switching From Windows to OS X: Just Let It Go

I’ve been a Mac user now for about a year and a half, give or take. As is common, I’m completely happy I took the plunge and will never look back. There is very little I dislike about my MacBook and OS X. If you’re looking to convert yourself I’ll tell right now, you won’t regret it. The rumors are true. It is a fantastic experience overall.

But there are certainly some possible areas of frustration. As an advanced Windows user, I found many aspects of OS X to be overly-simplified, and really quite alien. Today, I’ll be outlining a few of these examples – and explaining the best way to deal with this source of frustration!

The Switching Process

Switch Away!

Switch Away!

I was a Windows PC user growing up. I actually went to school to be an IT professional so as you would imagine much of my coursework revolved around Windows technologies. It is, and will be for a considerably long time, the dominant computer operating system in the world. Microsoft, love them or hate them for it, has done an incredible job becoming a mainstay in just about everyone’s computing life.

Apple does a beautiful thing and provides many “here’s what you did in Windows…here’s how you do it in Mac OS X” videos and tutorials. They’ve done a great job recognizing the apprehension people have when making such a significant change, especially when their products come at a premium cost. It’s not something you “just try out”. I suppose you could spend a few hours a the local Apple Store (if you’re lucky enough to have one nearby), but when it comes down to it you really just end up diving in head first.

Say goodbye to the registry...

Say goodbye to the registry...

From my experience, the transition wasn’t overly difficult, but there were certainly some frustrations I had when learning this new operating system and I think a lot of it stemmed from being more of a power Windows user.

Power User Frustrations

Windows does a lot of things wrong. A big part of becoming a Windows expert is learning to deal with those things and figuring out ways to work with all of the little oddities and idiosyncrasies that Microsoft was kind enough to not think completely though. Knowledge in this area gave me a lot of tools to troubleshoot problems, which is a big part of working in an enterprise Windows environment. But it also crippled me somewhat with learning a new operating system.

I originally set out to write about my general experience of the move from a PC to a Mac, but after some thought I stumbled upon an interesting idea. Mac OS X is far easier to learn than Windows if you are starting from scratch. And along those same lines, it is easier for a novice Windows user to learn Mac OS X than a power Windows user.

Here’s what I mean by that statement. I found that when I was learning to use OS X, I was essentially over-thinking. I was making everything much more complicated than it actually was and it caused a decent amount of frustration. I think my Windows experience had scarred me somewhat. The logical, easy method seemed just that. Too logical and too easy. My mind was always looking for the difficult, strange route to complete every task – not the simple, straight-forward one.

Figuring Out Finder

Getting comfortable with Finder was a significant step for me personally. Though it is fairly similar to Windows Explorer (depending upon what view you’re using) it was just different enough to throw me off. After some use the “Devices”, “Places”, “Search For” structure really started to make sense, and before long I realized how much more efficient it was.

Taking advantage of Spotlight takes that efficiency even further. The search tool in Windows was always a last resort for me so it took me a while to get used to relying more on Spotlight.

Apple's marketing makes the process sound simple... And it often is!

Apple's marketing makes the process sound simple... And it often is!

Settings Simplified

System settings are much easier to deal with in Mac OS X. With Windows there are some settings in the Control Panel, but many are in places that are a little odd and are difficult to find. With Mac OS X, the System Preferences are always easily accessible from the Apple icon. They are organized into sections and are all there in one central place.

I remember needing to adjust the internal microphone early on in my Mac days. I had no idea how to do it. I just went to the System Preferences (because it made sense), found the Sound settings icon and had it figured out in a matter of seconds.

The Simplest Solution Is Probably the Right One!

Mac OS X is really designed in a way that just makes sense. The best advice I can give someone coming over from the Windows world is to forget everything they’ve learned and just use the machine.

It took me a while to figure it out and shake loose from my old ways, but after I let go of where I thought things “should be” and how I thought things “should work” I was able to make more sense of OS X and really interact with my Mac.

Did you find yourself in a similar position after making the switch? Let us know in the comments!


  • Chris

    Exactly the same thing here. I bought a new HP Photosmart, and did the setup like described in the user manual. I plugged it in, installed the driver (like you would do on a PC) and tried to print. And it worked. But when I tried to scan, the HP software crashed badly which was pretty frustrating. After some googling, I realized that all drivers and software was preinstalled in 10.6 and so I had to remove the driver I installed, reboot and I was able to scan. A classic example of over-thinking…

  • Jad Ashi

    I swear that what happened to me!

  • Liviu

    I became a Mac user about 8 months ago.
    After a few years of checking reviews on the web and seeing almost every tutorial on the Apple site, I’ve decided to go for it.
    I bought the 2010 updated 13″ Macbook Pro. I’m so happy that I don’t get frustrating errors or stupid system messages anymore.
    Macs are the future. For a college student, always on the move they’re perfect. I’ve found every software I needed and my productivity just went through the roof.

  • http://www.handlungsplan.net to

    Same for me. I switched to Mac to use it as a DAW after being really frustrated with the way Audio works under Windows. As a DAW the Mac is unbeatable.
    But i use my Mac now for everything.
    I always looked for signs of trouble as i was used under Windows, but i never had a single problem in over a year and a half.

  • Tuomas

    I switched about 4 years ago.

    I had long been interested in Macs and knew I was going to eventually switch, so I learned many things before I even touched a Mac: how to install and uninstall applications (disk images are a source of frustration for many), how to use Exposé, how to adjust settings and perform basic maintenance, and so on…

    So when I finally powered up my shiny white MacBook (the first ever model) for the first time, I instantly felt familiar with it – I knew what was different so I never really ran into any problems related to old Windows habits. In fact, I quickly started having problems using Windows…

  • http://www.monikahalim.com Monika Halim

    Great insights. I’ve been a Mac user for almost 4 years now. I was a novice Windows user so the transition was pretty easy, as you said. Only after I switch to Mac I realized how inefficient most of my Windows habits was, on Mac it’s like all the logics simplified. Now I often gets confused (and sometimes leads to frustrated) when I have to use Windows computer, because then I would have to go through all those unnecessary habits all over again. I highly recommend Mac, because it’s just works for you, not the other way around.

  • Pieter V

    I had a very similar experience.

    I’ve switched about 2 years ago now. and I always tended to look for solutions to my early problems in the weirdest places like I had to in Windows.
    I only really understood how to efficiently work with my mac when I realized that when I wanted to do something simple I needed to think about the most logical place to find it. When I need something advanced, however, I taught myself to stop looking for those horrible, hidden, nested dialogs you find in Windows. I taught myself to just look for a terminal command on google.

    That’s when I really made the switch, when I realized I could just use the computer without hassle every day. And on those days you want to change some advanced settings you use the power of UNIX combined with the power of google.

  • http://luissalvador.net Luís Salvador

    I have a Macbook Pro for 6 months and if at the beginning it was difficult to get used to touch it, today, I don’t want nothing else! Stir in Windows, for me, no longer makes almost no sense… OS X is a totally new world, simplified, practical, everything!

    I love it!

  • http://vitamincm.com Christopher Masiello

    Here’s the quick guide from Windows to Mac:
    Control = Command
    Delete = Command Delete
    Close & Minimize are left, not right (Restore option does nothing sensible)
    Closing Apps does not close them. (Apple> Quit or Right Click on Dock + Quit)
    In Finder- Enter changes file name, it does not open the file. (Double Click)
    Control Panel = System Preferences
    Google “How to ….. on Mac” will show you anything else you need to know.

    • Paulo

      i was just going to say that i missed the delete button on these new apple keyboards… glad i read your comment first :)

  • Brian

    Funny, I went the other way around. I was a mac user from the early 80′s up until the mid 90s, when it was evident that PCs could do a whole lot more for your money. Back in the 80s, the Mac was capable of things that PCs could only dream of- integrated sound (1984 mac could TALK… pc’s were running DOS and beeping warnings at best), RISC chips, etc… I was a raving Mac fanboy back then.

    The tables turned during the CPU wars between Intel and AMD, which artificially accelerated the rate at which new processors were released, and ended with Apple admitting that PC chips were in fact superior to their own Motorola-based PowerPC architecture.
    End result? Apple ditched their hardware platform for the same Intel-based Cores that PCs used. I was kind of angry that I now had to pay more for essentially lower end specs than the PC side of things, all for what? A more shiny interface (that I was actually more used to)? No thank you.
    I understand that this isn’t the point of your post- you’re comparing the experience of switching over. I’m sharing mine: There was no learning curve going either way for me. Why? Like anyone who would consider themselves a computer enthusiast, I had experience in both.

    The funny thing is that I find it hard to picture someone in school for IT never having experience on a Mac. As if this were some eye-opening experience for you- have you been living under a rock?

    Also, your comparisons seems to based on XP and under… The search box found in the start menu of every machine since Vista has a cached real-time search similar to what you describe from Spotlight. The user no longer needs to figure out where a particular option is hiding since you can start typing whatever you expect it to be called, and it will dig the shortcut name out from your nested control panel, programs, etc…

    I agree that from the perspective of a first time computer user, Mac requires less prerequisite understanding of how a computer works internally. That’s a good thing. But I’ve seen Mac users make the switch to Windows 7 and find it extremely easy and straight forward, not as archaic and disjointed as you imply. With the hardware being almost identical and the user experience simplified on both sides, all this seems irrelevant…

    • http://chrisfay.net Chris

      I just made the switch from my pc to a mac, mostly for the web development workflow benefits thanks to a variety of apps, and had never once touched an apple machine until now. I have been a desktop/web developer for the last 5 years, a windows power user, and an IT professional/admin and just never had the opportunity/need to use one.

      Now I use an imac at home as my main machine, and develop at work on a macbook pro – i enjoy it, although I also enjoy the nuances of my windows boxes at home for various things, as well as requirements for testing.

      In any case, I don’t find it that surprising the op hadn’t used a mac until now…

    • HeavyD

      You obviously are not in IT or have mainstream IT experience. Because, more than 90% of businesses with more than 10 employees use Windows. I have been in IT for 15 years, and the only employees with Macs were the marketing people. I have never heard a single Enterprise IT department who supports Mac (they may allow it, but don’t support it), in fact, I’ve never hear of a single Computer Science program that includes Mac in the curriculum. If I was a writer, I could imagine writing almost the exact same article. I’m an IT professional and had never used a Mac until a year ago… and I’ll never go back.

  • Yop

    The worse when you are switching are the keyborard and his shotcuts.
    1. You probably dont think to buy an extended one and get the very cute but too small wireless one.
    2. You have to learn “command” instead of “control” which is easy until you get your hand back on windows (boot camp, friend, work, whatever)
    3. Home/End/PgUp/PgDown/command+left arrow/command+right arrow : it’s a mess between what’s is useful (the windows way, sorry to say that) and legacy (mac way).

    My 2¢…

  • Chris

    I must agree with you.

    I also made a switch about 2 years ago. And before that I was pretty advanced windows user, as you described, I knew many work arounds to make the window work as I wanted.

    When I made a switch to Mac, I really never thought I would be such Mac fan. But man…its really good. I have never regretted my decision.

  • http://twitter.com/vdenial Vance Denial

    Step 1: Replace Finder.

    Finder is an anemic and very not configurable application. Path Finder is my browser of choice, quite the opposite of Finder as it’s feature set is robust and can be tweaked to your heart’s content. It’s not free however, and for those who don’t want to shell out the ~40USD I’d recommend muCommander. Those familiar with Norton/Total Commander from Windows will feel right at home as it applies the same two-pane setup, in addition to being cross-platform.

  • David C.

    Macs are great. Simple, easy to use, and very user-friendly. I’ve been using my macbook for almost 2 years now, and it’s hard not to see why most Mac users don’t go back to using Windows. But this being a Mac app ‘forum’, it’s obvious that most of the people discussing this topic will say macs are better. Go to a Windows blog/forum, and you’ll get very different opinions. Just saying, but the choice is really up to you.

  • http://noteschris.wordpress.com Christine Lee

    I was quite handy with the PC and with MS Office in my work and home life for years and years, but friends and reviewers persuaded me to move to the Mac. In my prep before doing so, I was given David Pogue’s book “Switching to the Mac” from the Missing Manual series a few months before I bought a MacBook.

    It was invaluable in hints, diagrams, and explanations about the how and why things are different btwn the Mac and PC. I used post-its and reviewed and re-read sections of the book. When I actually made the switch, I had 3 days of minor frustration, then it took about 1 week before I was handy with the Mac OS, and about 2 weeks before my MacBook felt really comfortable. Obviously, it took use and practice to make the transition, but the knowledge beforehand totally helped. I’ve read a number of books about the Mac, but this one was the most helpful and well laid-out for a newbie.

  • http://developerpanda.com/ Deb

    I was quite comfortable with XP but I switched anyway. But now I know I am not going back :D

  • kobi

    I use a Mac for about 3 months and really all that was said here is true.
    Transition was very easy. simple System and easy to use.

    Nevertheless I have a problem.
    Maybe it’s not really a problem but it bothers me
    It is strange that after three months of using Mac takes him a long time to boot up

    I removed software that comes up on boot
    Still no change
    Somehow expected not come across such things on a Mac too much

    If anyone has advice to offer would love to hear

    • http://www.handlungsplan.net to

      Removing the software is still a windows-way…
      I got in the same trap too…
      Probably it is your harddisk, go to the Utilities menu -> Diskutilities and check your harddrive, if anything is wrong your Mac will tell you what to do…
      And you could give Onyx a try, its Freeware and will help you on such issues.

    • PieterV

      Immediately after booting, try launching console.app and see if any errors come up. My boot time was once almost doubled by a single permissions issue that didn’t get fixed using the automatic permissions fixer built into the disk utility.

  • tom

    The real bad thing is, what you should do if you do not want to switch?
    So, you want to use a win / linux system and mac together?

    you will going crazy, caused by the keyboard layout. that really sucks :/

  • kobi

    it turns out that the best thing to do is repair the mac from the
    os x install disk. and it works.

    thanks anyway.

  • Richard

    I switched about 4 years ago, after using DOS and Windows computers (Dells, Coronas; TI, etc – many of computer brands that have come and gone) for more than 25 years. I should have done it years ago. My experience: (1) better user-interface; (2) more reliable; (3) Far better tech support; (4) increased productivity – less time trying to fix issues; (4) no virus problems. In the words of the Nike commercial, “just do it”

  • Dusan

    I switched to mac a couple of months ago. It was a painful process, especially with keyboard shortcuts. I still miss Total Commander and particularly xnview/acdsee (can’t believe there are still no good Mac equivalent for effective image browsing – and I tried them all)

    • Mike Brown

      It’s called the spacebar. Try it, use your arrow keys to move to the next file in a long list of files. It’ll even do PDFs, documents and much more. QuickView is what they call it.

  • Mai

    Let me think… I start using Mac in the year 1997 (that was 13 years ago) I was still young then, so the whole learning experience was really easy for me. Honestly, getting to know Mac is not that hard, it just some people had a different opinion or should I say “experience” between Mac and Microsoft Windows (the pain in the butt) mind my words.

    If I not mistake, MS Windows Vista only start using the search bar after Apple using it on Mac OS X (I mean the first Mac OS X). So, we know who copycat that “thing”. About the shortcuts, I found out Mac shortcuts is better especially with our fingers (try to compare both Mac and Windows shortcuts) which one you feel more comfortable and what made me really like Mac is, the OS is more solid & stable (in my point of view as a graphic designer).

    So, I believed the whole experience using Mac OS X is not that bad. Try it, as what Apple motto said “Think Different”

    • Alan_F

      Actually I saw my first “search” with Archie in 1990. The modern search bar, as we now see everywhere, was an Opera thing and something they were focused on from the get go. Apple’s “uniqueness” actually represents the brilliant open source community’s inventiveness to those who have been involved on all fronts since the late 80′s and marketing genius in grafting itself to social trendiness like no other has before.

      Steve Jobs has tried for years now to distance Apple from things like netbsd and reading many threads Mac wise, he’s done so quite successfully. I doubt very many Apple users at all truly realize what OSX actually represents. Inventiveness means nothing, its being first at the patent office or first to copyright that spells success. The first milk white, rounded corners and surfaces personal computer I had ever seen was a Taiwan only release which had cracked in shipping with an exchange student in 2000. When Apple went that way themselves style/material wise, it was something I HAD already seen done.

  • lolcat

    mac is for gay

    • http://www.macsareforfaggots.com Timrith Jimpkins

      hahahahahaahah. comment of the year!

      short but sweet

  • Eric

    I was a Mac and Windows users from way back. Before there was Windows. Though I didn’t start really using Macs until May of ’92 when Photoshop came into my life at the newspaper where I worked. (And a pair of Quadra 950s at $10k each).

    But then I dropped Windows 3 for OS/2. Then back to Win95 when IBM lost its brain and couldn’t compete with Microsoft, and Windows 2K and then I got my own Mac at home.

    So I’ve always dealt with multiple operating systems. (Throw in some NeXT, UNIX and BeOS along the way). And of all the OSs, OS X is clearly better, easier to use and more powerful in many ways than any of the others I’ve used.

    I was lucky to have access to multiple OSs over the years. In fact, I still have Windows XP on my Mac Pro at home. But for the life of me, I can’t remember the last time I ran it.

    • http://www.handlungsplan.net to

      I used to work on Win and Linux/Unix boxes for a long time, including the lovely workstations from BOXX Tech.
      Now i use Win only for 3D.
      But BeOS really rocked… thanks for reminding me!

  • http://develemental.com Casen

    After I started my degree in 2004, I began using the intranet at my school, and fell in love with unix. I found it to be so powerful compared to the windows xp box I was using at home, but it lacked the visual methods of manipulating things I was used to from windows.

    Then I discovered Mac. A beautiful visual interface AND a unix system below!

    I have to say the thing that took me the longest to get used to was ejecting CD’s or disk images by dragging them to the trash. Everything else felt natural.

  • Chris W

    I was an advanced Windows/PC user, and switched to Mac 3 years ago. The things I noticed first were mostly cosmetic. Not being able to maximize a window, the workspace being much less customizable than Windows, etc. But, in terms of functionality, I found it to be almost completely effortless (LOVE the difference in installing/uninstalling programs!). Now that I have experience in both, I think of them as different, but each has strengths. I love the security and ease of Mac/OSX, but I think Windows 7 is much prettier and personally satisfying to work with.

    • Chris W

      Okay… ummm… the window maximization thing isn’t really ‘cosmetic’, but ‘functional’. Haha! My bad :p Oh, in addition, I found a site called ‘myfirstmac’ that helped with the transition.

  • http://thegodfilter.com Mitch Craig

    Same experience, I bought my Mac in February and love it. Would never go back to Windows. I have found myself being a lot more creative because the Mac makes it so easy. Granted I work in radio and am a little frustrated with the way the audio editors work on the Mac but Adobe Audition 4 is coming to the Mac early next year. I would have never done video editing if it wasn’t for my MacBook Pro. You can check out some of my work on thegodfilter.com.

  • http://www.mikekey.com Mike Key

    Similar experience, I switched my anemic hp laptop to a 15inch Macbook Pro in July. Because so much of what we do now a days is on the internet the transition from the start was fairly simple. I was surfing, messaging, listening to itunes in no time. Thanks to this website I found BusyCal and MailPlane to spice up my Google Apps.

    I consider myself a Windows Power user, my development machine that I’ve done most of my work on is a custom built tower with two dual 24inch monitors. I just recently decided to start plugging the Macbook into one of those monitors and test the waters to see if my web design work flow could carry over. I’ve been a little slow moving around, but I’m starting to pick up speed. I find that Spaces and Expose actually makes me faster than the two screens on Windows 7. Which has me thinking about ditching my two screens for one 30inch.

    I hated Mac’s and Mac fan boys forever and sang the they suck tune and now I’m a hypocrite. Granted some PC’s can still out perform internal hardware wise, Mac to me is a better experience OS and Physical Hardware wise.

  • http://enrique-ramirez.com Enrique Ramírez

    Unsatisfied Mac user here.

    Everything is great. I love my third-party apps (I have to admit, I loathe most of Apple’s software) and can’t imagine working on a PC again for quite some time (web designer).

    BUT

    For everything else, which is basically entertainment, my Mac falls very, very short from it’s PC counterpart.

    A DECENT media player? There’s none. iTunes is both a bloated software and a handicapped one. Have you ever tried to find a player in OSX that could play .flac files natively, plus keep global hotkeys, low RAM and could manage a library of 15+ songs WITHOUT slow downs? I’ve tried EVERYTHING out there for this… ended up with a Foobar2000 install over Wine in the end. No global hotkeys, but heck, it works.

    Same thing goes for Video, though VLC comes to the rescue here (yes, I know it plays audio files as well, but the interface is really not designed for a large music library).

    Gaming? Such a pain. Even finding a decent joystiq is a real pain.

    For music, I use finale, and it’s OSX version is really, really unstable (not really Apple’s fault, but annoying nonetheless).

    The very, very few upgrade options you have with a Macbook is really painful when, after 2 years of buying a really overpriced computer, you see the rest of the world evolving and your macbook still being “amazingly fast” and “amazingly underpowered”.

    It is NOT customizable at all. Not on the outside, not on the inside. Themes, colours, fonts… they may all be changeable, but the over complicated steps on doing so (or overpriced apps for it) is really not worth the effort.

    And finally, the lack of OS options is awful. YES, I do know that you can use a Virtual Machine or a Boot Camp for this. Let me get this traight: Virtual Machines are a performance shame. Having to run 2 OSs at the same time in the same machine is a complete waste of resources. As foor bootable OSs, the list is very short and limiting.

    I think I’m done for now.

    Yes, a mac can do everything your PC can, but a LOT of it seems to just have workarounds or unstable software to do so.

    I LOVE my PC. A Windows 7 install on one partition, a Linux one on the other, and my macbook for work. That’s all I need in life.

  • http://www.smallwhale.com Calvin

    OS X – Time spending to come out the works!
    Windows – Time spending to figure how it works!

  • Chris

    “Windows does a lot of things wrong.”

    Apologies to the OP but articles like this are a waste of time. Who says the Windows way is wrong? Steve Jobs? OK, so this is MAC.appstorm.net and it’s in the opinion category but I reckon people should do what part of the title of the article says and “just let it go”.

    I was a Windows admin for over 15 years and use *all* Apple hardware at home. Until a year ago I’d never even pressed a key on a Mac but now I don’t run Windows at home at all. This isn’t because Apple and OS X are better – it’s because the business I carry out at home now is between a network of people that choose Apple as their platform and it’s logical for us all to be on the same platform. If everyone else used Windows, I’d still be using that for home business. Neither is better than the other – they’re just designed differently and aimed at different markets. Don’t forget that Microsoft has to build for a multitude of platforms – Apple only has to build for one. Other than the logical reason above I don’t use Apple hardware for any reason other than I’m fortunate, I guess, to be paid well enough to afford it.

    “As an advanced Windows user, I found many aspects of OS X to be overly-simplified, and really quite alien.”

    Well, of course they’re alien. That’s like driving a 1.6L Toyota and then stepping into an F1 car and going “Hmm, this is alien and I don’t like it” simply because they have different seats. Apples (no pun intended) and oranges – that’s all it is. Designed for and aimed at different markets/purposes.

    Sorry again OP – I’m not trying to burn your opinion itself but I really wish there were more articles about how to do cool stuff on OS X (or Windows), not just pages of relatively content-less brain dumps that don’t actually tell anyone anything other than what you use at home.

  • http://pixeltouch.blogspot.com/ Mattias

    I never looked back too; after switching from Win PC to MAC OSX; after just one month into using MAC OSX!

    Initially the change is painful; (I thought Finder is troublesome to use and the work experience is lousy; compared to Windows 7; gotta give credit to Windows 7; it’s a very good OS too)

    But after learning more about the MAC OS itself; shortcut keys; apps, widgets; and so forth’ I would say the switch to a more “expensive” computing experience is worth EVERY penny.

    Working is never SO FUN before!

  • Chris

    My main complaint with OSX has always been (and still is!) the overemphasis on the desktop & windowed content. Yes, Windows has windows (and a desktop, and a mouse pointer, and…etc.), but it makes it easy to work on a given item, full screen, without constantly going to the desktop, or manually resizing windows to fit the content. I paid for a large screen, and I like to use that big screen for my content, regardless of what it is. I don’t need to view 37 windows behind whatever I’m working on – I want whatever I’m working on in front of me, uncluttered! Yes, I can do so in OSX, but only (by default) if I manually size the window. The idea that OSX somehow “knows” what size the window ought to be is absurd. It’s my data/project/app, and I want to view it how I want to, not how some snobby-assed OS thinks I should view it. Simple solution, though: RightZoom lets me use the “+” button as it should be…as a maximize button.

  • http://www.mobilesinternet-vergleich.at Valentin

    I really love my Mac, but some i prefer the window management of Windows. In my opinion it’s better. You can really(!) maximize windows, order them really easy side by side. The Windows solution with the OSX “auto-size”(optimal size) button – i mean the green one – would be perfect.

  • Master

    I realize this is a Mac fan site and all and don’t get me wrong one of my laptops is the 13 inch MacBook Pro, but most of your points for anti-Windows seem invalid. Most of the issue you outlined were probably true in XP, but XP is 10 year old technology. In fact OS X did not get good until Tiger dare I say. Starting with Windows Vista and currently 7, Windows is a really good OS. So next time write a more fair article

  • Ryan Burnett

    I use Visual Studio for .Net development, I really want to buy a MacBook Pro as my primary computer, but should I knowing I’m going to have Windows 7 in Bootcamp ready to develop websites in?

  • http://www.turrbine.com Dave G

    I’ve been a Mac user for years and years. I started with System 6.

    I’ve been supporting Macs and Windows PC’s in my job for a long time. I decided to test quitting my Mac cold turkey for a Windows 7 laptop. I do both technical and design work, so there was a lot of adjustment. Without going into too much detail, I just couldn’t stay working in Win 7. My 4 year old MacBook Pro just continues to serve my needs better than the new HP ProBook I got for the job. The MacBookPro does everything I need it to do, easily, and never gives me any trouble.

  • Bjarne Christensen

    Different OS’s have different Strengths/Weaknesses … so is it. But theres is not a best OS ever …. it is really dependent of the kind of work you do.

    I find OS-X quite appealing for my home work, making a lot of photo editing and more or less is using my mac for everything I do. But couldn’t do without virtual-box neither…there is a few windows only apps that I use.

    Being a IT prof for years i have been using most windows versions and also Linux/UNIX for different purposes…

    Windows is very good as long nothings goes wrong, but can be a pain to troubleshoot. Linux is damn stable, but a pain to setup and configure … OS-X is the best from the two in its own way … simple and stable.

    Use the OS you like, but stop bashing others – they all serve a purpose and have a target group ….

  • AZZAN

    how can your computer turn into a aplle computer

  • http://agraphis.com logicface

    I’ve used both mac and windows for 10+ years now in a work environment. Mac formerly had an edge when it came to media editing but that is no longer the case. I rarely use the mac anymore because I depend on too many programs that mac does not support and trying to work around it interrupts work flow. Since Jobs has miffed Adobe Apple is a toy manufacturer. Linux for server-side. Windows for client-side. Mac for white plastic things.

  • sunnyape

    I agree with logicface.

    I was going to write a long diatribe (don’t get me started on the horrors of my MacBook G3 ownership) but in essence, I have owned Mac hardware + OS for decades side by side with Win32 and never really had problem using either or both for getting a job done.

    However, Apple’s retreat from the ITS department / server room over the past decade and their move into the game / phone / music distribution sector predicts a future I didn’t want to be a part of.

    I was worshiping a false god. I walked out of the temple and into the sunlight…. WOW, how long have computers been so cheap?

  • Paolo

    Macs are excellent for stupid people, really excellent. If however you have a brain, even a tiny one then use some variant of open source OS. MacOS == moron, OSOS == enlightened.

  • Pingback: Trackback Replicas de Relogios

  • Pingback: Wake up call: How to Beat Entrenched, Dominant Competition | photosz

theatre-aglow
theatre-aglow
theatre-aglow
theatre-aglow